DD – Days 3 & 4

I think we’ve broken her!  We wore her down, stood our ground, and we won!  I think.  She hasn’t asked for Diego when the tv comes on since Day 2, and the singing of the Diego anthem has been kept to a minimum (like, only 10 times a day, instead of with every breath she exhaled).  She’s not crazy-eyed, foaming at the mouth, whispering ‘Eggo’ in her sleep, throwing fits of anger everytime we touch the remote and Diego doesn’t appear.  Which is a remarkable improvement from last weekend.

So now what?  A week isn’t up, but I’m never one to mark plans in stone.  I’m flexible.  Should I give it another day or two?  Not worry about it unless she asks?  It’s just so sad that I’ve taken away something she clearly loves more than life itself a lot. 

Now that we’ve made it through the rough spots, I feel like such a horrible mommy.  So mean!  Taking away a tv show, a perfectly appropriate tv show, just because she…what?  Actually enjoys it?  Well, there’s no sense guilt-tripping myself.  It is just a cartoon, afterall.  I’ll just buy myself Eirinn something sparkly and expensive and we’ll both feel better. 

Talk to me

