Friday Five – Characteristics

I don’t care what Eirinn becomes, vocationally, when she grows up. Whatever she chooses I will be proud of her. Within reason. If she decided that her life-long aspiration is to become a Roadkill Recovery Technician, I might not brag to all my friends. But there are characteristics I do hope she takes with her into adulthood. 

In no particular order:

1. Patience.  So far it’s not looking good, but one can only hope. Patience will have to be a learned trait for Little Miss “Give me Swiper RIGHT NOW and if he’s not on that screen by the time I blink I will scream and cry and bonk my head on the coffee table in a fit of rage and won’t you be sorry then?”

2. Humour. She is so hilarious now. She is silly and goofy and loves to make people laugh. For example, she loves to point out your eyes, mouth (moush), teeth, ears, nose, up-your-nose…

3. Compassion. I want Eirinn to feel for others. To offer help to those who need it and to those unable to ask. I hope she is kind to animals and treats them like the little people in fur coats that they are.

4. Confidence. I want her to believe in herself; in her abilities and her intelligence. I want her to be confident enough to try difficult things because she is capable of achieving anything.

5. Courage. This one is the most important to me, mostly because I wish I had more of it myself. I hope she isn’t afraid to stand up for herself or for others who are unable. I hope she is willing to stand out and to be unique, even if she encounters critics. I hope she is brave enough to fly when it’s easier to keep both feet on the ground. To take chances, risks. To have the courage to be herself when she’s told to be someone else.

There are more, so many more, characteristics and traits I wish for her to both inherit and independently develop. Kindness, politeness, intelligence, humility, honesty. It was so hard to pick just five; maybe it should have been the Friday Fifteen this week. But, like I said, whatever she becomes I will be proud of her and love her endlessly and unconditionally.

Talk to me

