May 1

Rabbits rabbits rabbits.

Does anyone else do this?  Say ‘rabbits’ three times on the first day of every month?  It’s supposed to be good luck.  If you do, could you please tell me why?  I can’t for the life of me figure out what this means, yet I say it every month and have for as long as I can remember.

I’m not supersticious, but there are a few things I do without thinking about it.  I lift my feet when I cross railway tracks in the car.  I cross my fingers when I pass a cemetery.  I know what these ones mean but I just don’t know why I do them.  However, with the ‘rabbits’ thing, I don’t have a clue where it came from. 

8 thoughts on “May 1

  1. Now that is a totally new one for me. It’s a cute superstition, I like it. I’d say I’m going to adopt it, but I know I’ll forget between now and June 1st.

    Nice meeting you last night at the book club, btw.

    Katherine.

  2. I don’t do that…but I know people who do.

    *I* say (as I pinch and hit someone) “Pinch, punch, first of the month and NO returns”. It’s to show everyone how non superstitious and mature I am.

  3. I’ve never heard of that one but I do lick my fingers and make an X on the windshield for every person in the car if a black cat crosses in front of it. Yeah, it’s gross but I watched my grandmother and mother do it my entire life!!

    By the way, I found your blog through DadGoneMad. I’ve posted a complete list of everyone who left their blog link in a post called Blog Rolling With My Homies over on my blog, so if you want to see it come on over and sit a spell. I don’t bite..…that hard anyway!

  4. I do stamp-stamp-no-erasies when I want to beat my husband to the punch.

    Yes, I am a totally immature 29 year old.

    Found you by way of DGM and deedee.

    Spreading the blogging love!

Talk to me

