Hello? Anyone there?

We’re all still here and we’re all still alive.  It’s been rough, though, I have to admit.  It’s been more than 3 weeks and I have yet to have a night with more than 5 hours sleep.  Most nights it’s 4.  That starts to take a toll on a person.  I’m in a constant grumpy fog, which I hate.  I hate being so grumpy towards Eirinn and Anonymous Husband, but I really can’t help it.  I’ll go back to my cheery self (ha!) once I get more sleep.

Avery is going through her 3 week growth spurt, which means feeding her every hour or so.  It also means her sleeping is off.  She’s awake more during the day, but I don’t think she’s ready to be awake more because when she is awake, she’s grumpy (like me).  Only when she’s grumpy, she’s loud.

Thank goodness for my mom because we’ve been practically living at her house ever since AH went back to work.  I don’t know if I could go through this stage with the two girls on my own.  Oh, and Eirinn was sick earlier this week, so I had two girls who needed 100% of my attention 100% of the time.  I don’t have 200% to give.  Luckily my mom chipped in 100% of her attention, so the girls were covered.

I have the utmost respect for anyone who does have to raise children on their own, whether it be because they are single parents or because their families live far away.  I really tip my hat to them because I’m not sure if I could do it.  Actually, strike that.  I know I couldn’t do it.  I can only make it until 9 am on my own and that’s after AH has changed Eirinn and fed her breakfast.  Oh, and forget having a shower or even brushing my hair.  Those things are luxuries left for the weekend.

Maybe one of these days, when Avery is having regular naps and eating on a more normal schedule, I’ll be able to come back to posting at a semi-usual pace.  Until then, I’ll keep trying to check in once a week or so, so that you know we’re still ok.  Or at least that the kids are still ok.  I won’t be ok until I can sleep and that will probably not be for a very long time.

4 thoughts on “Hello? Anyone there?

  1. Hang in there Jen. It doesn’t last forever – it just seems like it goes on endlessly. I remember those days and I have the utmost sympathy for you. You’re lucky to have AH and your Mom to help you.

    I remember when Caity was tiny – less than 3 months old, my Hubby was trying to get her to sleep (not easy when they’re colicky), it was around midnight, time for the adults to go to bed and there she was, screaming, again. I was dead tired, frustrated and actually angry at this little person who wouldn’t let me sleep. My hubby took her from me, started his rocking routine with her that puts her out and no sooner did he turn back towards me, I was sound asleep and snoring.

    On the other hand, it’s a great diet – you burn through calories like nuts – I dropped 30 pounds in 3 weeks – mainly because of looking after two kids and getting no sleep …

    Keep your chin up, it’ll be good soon ….

  2. You’re one tough cookie! You’ll make it through these trying times. It won’t take long before Avery is following a routine. I usually leave my house sweating from chasing my 2yr old trying to get him dressed for daycare, I can’t imagine how I would take care of more than one without help.

  3. Thanks for the recognition on being a single parent!! It’s toughest and most rewarding job ever! Thankfully, my 4 year stint has ended with my recent marriage to my fabulous new husband. Now, it’s a cake walk and I cannot imagine having two kids! My hat now goes off to all those out there with 2 or more kiddies. I think my favourite show lately is Jon & Kate plus Eight! I just can’t get enough, but I find it so hard to believe that they can manage without crashing and burning!

Talk to me

