If I hear about one more newborn who sleeps through the night…

…I’m going to scream.  And then punch someone square in the mouth.  And then cry uncontrollably. 

The naps have been going spectacularly.  Ditto on bedtime.  What hasn’t been going well, horrible in fact, has been the nights.  It’s actually embarrassing how terribly Avery sleeps at night.  I know I shouldn’t be embarrassed because it’s just sleep, but I am.  I’m embarrassed because of everyone I’ve spoken to and of every article I’ve read and of every message on every message board I’ve perused, Avery is the worst sleeper.  In most cases, by far.  And it’s embarrassing because I know it’s my fault. 

I wasn’t lucky enough to have been blessed with a child who sleeps well naturally, but I’ve been too lazy to teach her how to sleep well.  It took a good, solid two to three weeks to get the naps and bedtime on track.  Two to three weeks of torture, stress, and guilt.  I’ve avoided the night training because I couldn’t take another round of punishment, for me or her.  The work I did do was well worth it but, God, I don’t know if I can handle the nights. 

But I have to.  I really, really have to.  I’m going on ten months of being woken two to four times a night.  She has never once slept through the night.  From the information and experiences I have gathered, that’s…not good. 

So tonight we begin.  I’m not sure yet what we’re going to do, but we’re going to do something.

I predict a lot of screaming, hours of not sleeping, and that I eventually cave.  I hope I’m wrong, but I doubt it.

2 thoughts on “If I hear about one more newborn who sleeps through the night…

  1. Listen to me: You cannot cave. Because then you undo all the work you’ve done, and you’re right back where you started. If you’re at that point, you turn around and send AH in. That’s what he’s there for.

    Then you go down to the basement and hold a pillow over your head.

    You never know: Avery may surprise you and do much better than you think. Like you said, she’s doing great during the day and at bed. This should just be one last piece of the puzzle that will help all of you (especially you).

    And remember — the sun WILL come up tomorrow. As in, the night will end, no matter how long it may feel like!

    Finally (I’ll shut up soon, I promise), a Wise Woman once reminded me that baby is not suffering, but is just capital A Angry that you are not doing what she is demanding. Make that your mantra.

    You can do it. I know you can. I’ll be thinking of you non-stop.

  2. Amen sister! I am tired of hearing that as well. Both my babies took forever to sleep through the night and at that time it seemed like I was the ONLY one going through it and EVERYONE else had “sleep through the night since birth” babies. Argh!!! Frustrating to hear. You are so close though! You have made it through so many dependent stages and as you know, things just get better with time when it comes to having fussy babies. It’s all worth it in the end. Stay strong! I went through it to and I survived (barely but I did).

    Anyway, I’ve already read the following post and know the night went well which is AWESOME!! Like you said though, could be a fluke so don’t let her fool you! If it was, just know that more of those nights WILL come, they really will. I think you are on the right track though. I have no advice because you are doing everything perfectly!

Talk to me

