Sleep

Avery went to bed at 9 (she had a very long, very late nap, so bedtime was pushed back an hour), and woke up at 11:30.  I went in, shushed her for a minute or two while holding her, kissed her on the forehead, put her down and left.  She fussed, but didn’t really cry or scream, for about ten minutes.  That was the last I heard from her until 7 this morning.

I’m kind of in shock.  Also, very realistic in that it may have been a fluke.  But we’ll see.  Maybe she just needed that one time to realize that she can put herself back to sleep.  Or maybe she knew all along and it was just me who needed to realize it.

Probably the latter.

And after nearly ten months of being trained like Pavlov’s dog that every two or three hours, I should expect to hear a cry, I didn’t sleep all that well last night.  I was still awake a few times, anticipating being summoned.  But it never happened.

Tonight will be the true test to see if Avery really is a closet good sleeper or if she was just messing with me.

Talk to me

