Today, I can be one of those people

I’m only going to whisper this, as to not jinx myself, but…

Avery slept through the night last night.

She went to bed at 8:30 and didn’t wake up didn’t make me get out of bed until 8:30.  Well, I was up earlier than that, what with the whole first daughter thing, but Avery didn’t wake up until nearly 8:30.  A whole 12 hours!  I’m so proud of her!  And me!  She stirred a couple of times in the night, but put herself back to sleep within a minute or so.  It has only been three nights and she already did it!  That was too easy.  There must be some catch.  I expect that won’t be the end of it, just an exceptionally good night in the midst of training, but yay!

And what is this strange feeling I have?  Where is the foggy, grogginess?  Why am I able to think clearly?  Where is my horrible grouchiness?  Why am I not yelling? 

Oh, that’s right.  This is what rested feels like.  I like rested.  I want to go to there more often.

2 thoughts on “Today, I can be one of those people

  1. Yay!!! Jen, congrats, that’s awesome. Hopefully it will continue but even if it slips in and out, at least you know she is capable now!

  2. Hi Jen,

    I’ve been reading about your sleep issues and dreading what I know I have to do with my son… He’s almost 14 months old and wakes 2-5 times a night… and yes, I’m still breastfeeding him back to sleep at least one of those times… But you inspire me. It can be done. As soon as we’re done with this cold, I have to do it. Because I really need some sleep! And so does he.

Talk to me

