Stuck between a rock and a hard place

It’s been 52 days since we began our Campaign.  She started off strong, getting three prizes within the matter of four weeks or so.  We thought we were so close to being able to ditch the Pull Ups and be in underwear full time.  So.  Close.  Yet…so far.

Since I started back to work two and a half weeks ago, she has yet to keep her Pull Up dry.  We’ve been frustrated, but not angry, mostly because she had been doing so well.  Confused as to why she couldn’t keep it dry anymore.  She was really trying.  She would drain her bladder right before bed, she knows how to go potty by herself, so if she woke up and had to go, she could.  We were at a complete loss as to what was happening and what we could do.

I think I have figured out what was (and is) happening, and if I’m right I don’t think there is anything we can do.

Eirinn’s bedroom is right beside our en suite bathroom.  Her bed is against the wall.  I wake up at 6:30 am to shower and get ready for the day while the rest of the house is still asleep.  Do you see where I’m going with this?  Think 3rd grade sleepovers.

I’m pretty sure Eirinn hears the shower running in her sleep, rendering her bladder defenseless.  I’m pretty sure the sound of the water running makes her pee.

What on earth can we do to solve this?  I can’t wait until she wakes up to have my shower; I start work at 8.  Her bed is already in the only spot available for it.  The other shower in the house is beside Avery’s room and would wake her up, plus all my stuff is in our en suite (convenience and efficiency are key).

Are we stuck?  Is she destined to be a pants-wetter for all of eternity?  Any suggestions?

3 thoughts on “Stuck between a rock and a hard place

  1. Wow! That’s tough. I agree that could be the problem, and I agree it’s not practical to wake her at 6:30 so she can pee… I hope you find a solution. Good luck!

  2. Actually she might be subconsciously reacting to you going back to work. Little kids can’t handle change very well and she may be anxious that you’re not there during the day anymore like you used to be. Every year for the past two years in August before school starts, Lexy started wetting her pants again – she’s been toilet trained for years, but the anxiety of going to school (even though she loves it) is a bit much for her little body to deal with. Once she’s in school, she’s fine.

    Give it a couple of weeks with very positive reinforcement i.e., if you stay dry to the weekend, we’ll go to a movie or something extra special like that. Try also to spend the first few minutes when you get home at night just with her (if it’s possible with a baby too) to reassure her that she’s still your special girl.

    It’ll take a bit, but it’ll eventually happen. Hope that helps. 🙂

  3. I agree with doodlesmom that it could be related to you going back to work howver if you still think it is your shower in the morning why not try showering before you go to bed for a week just to see if it makes a difference. Will save you time in the morning too. I know there is the issue of bed head in the morning however something to solve that is using a cheap satin pillow case. My girlfriend (her hair is as long as yours) does that and she has no bedhead in the morning at all. I wouldn’t have believed it would make a difference if hadn’t seen it with my own eyes this past weekend. Something to think about.

Talk to me

