My PVR is feeling mighty festive right about now.

Before Christmas is allowed to arrive, these must be watched:

Claymation Christmas

Garfield’s Christmas

Christmas Eve on Sesame Street

Muppet Family Christmas

Elf

The Santa Clause (1, 2, & 3)

One Magic Christmas

Scrooged

A Christmas Story

National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation

Home Alone  

All of the Old Christmas Classics: Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer, Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town, A Year Without Santa, Frosty The Snowman, The Little Drummer Boy, The Grinch Who Stole Christmas.

A Charlie Brown Christmas

Miracle on 34th Street

It’s a Wonderful Life

A Christmas Carol

Jingle All The Way

Black Christmas (just kidding)

Did I miss any?

Would anyone mind if we, perhaps, delayed Christmas by a month or six? 

I think I’ve set some pretty lofty goals that may or may not be achievable, given the onslaught of Christmas television specials the Eirinn has decided are all, also, must-watch shows.  Within my PVR currently resides no less than 20 cartoon Christmas shows – Strawberry Shortcake , Dora (x2), Disney’s Prep and Landing, Franklin’s Magic Christmas, and a bunch of others that I can’t remember because there are so many of them and they are multiplying every day.  I come home from work and there’s three more that I didn’t even remember I set to record.  Every.  Day

You’d think I’d put a kibosh on the movies, but you know what?  I’m a sucker for a cheesy Christmas tale, especially if it involves Muppets, a heart-warming feel-good story, and/or keeps Eirinn out of my hair for a full half an hour.  Put on a holiday movie, in a room mood-lit by the Christmas tree, hand me a hot chocolate (nevermind, I’ll make it myself) and light a fire flick the fireplace switch to “on”, and I’m in heaven.

So there we go.  Christmas must be post-poned until at least Valentine’s Day (we’ll re-evaluate come February 1st). 

You’re welcome.

8 thoughts on “My PVR is feeling mighty festive right about now.

  1. I hear ya… I love all of those too… Did you have Muppet Christmas Carol on there?? And Mickeys Christmas Carol??

    Oh and the movie, based on that song “the Christmas Shoes” Is evidently on on Saturday… Just an FYI

    • My Muppet Christmas movie of choice will always be A Muppet Family Christmas. So many good quotes (“It’s cold enough to freeze your Winnibego!””The heck, you say!””Gobbly gobbly [from the Swedish chef, to Big Bird]”).

      Dude! I hate the song, I’m certainly not watching the movie (again)!

  2. Thanks, I need the extra time!

    Miracle on 34th Street must be the original black & white version, I believe it’s a law

    The Christmas Carol must be the one with Alistair Simms (sp), see above re: law.

    You forgot “Holiay Inn” and “White Christmas” two of Der Bingle’s best and two of my favourites.

    Oh yes, don’t forget Mickey’s Christmas Carol!

    and, my personal cannot miss “The Muppet Musicians of Brehmen” http://muppet.wikia.com/wiki/The_Muppet_Musicians_of_Bremen

    • I agree with Miracle on 34th Street. The 1994 version is miss-able.

      Also in agreement with A Christmas Carol. Nothing spookier than the black and white version. I’ve loved this one since I was a kid.

      I’ve actually never seen Holiday Inn or White Christmas.

      Is that last one even a Christmas movie? It didn’t seem that way by the Wiki discription.

      • When I was a kid (hate to admit it, but it was in the 70’s – which explains a few things…) they had it on every Christmas since 74 or whenever it was made – I’ve always associated it with Christmas.

        It’s kind of a Christmasy movie … oh and don’t forget Emmett Otter’s Jugband Christmas! That’s another muppet classic from the 70’s I think. Definitely Christmas – it’s based very loosely on Oh Henry’s Tale – where the mother Otter and the son Otter don’t have any money for Christmas but still want to give each other a gift. Classic Jim Henson.

        White Christmas was just on the other night. George Clooney’s Aunt was a heck of a singer in her day.

        Gotta get back to watching The Santa Clause 2 … and the kids are in bed!

  3. You have to watch Muppet’s Christmas Carol!! It’s a Christmas Eve must in my family. As well, I try not to miss White Christmas (even though I hate that song) — it’s such a lovely old movie!!

    • Oh, I’ve seen Muppet’s Christmas Carol, I just prefer the Family Christmas. I agree it’s good, it’s just with A Christmas Carol and Scrooged, that’s about my fill of The Dickins!

  4. Ooooohhh, I love One Magic Christmas! I watch it every year along with all those classics you mentioned and of course Chrismas Vacation and It’s a Wonder Life. Jeff and I watched The Grinch with Jim Carrey last night. We enjoy that! “But what will I wear!?!”

Talk to me

