The latest Avatar review ever.

AH and I saw Avatar like every other person on the face of the planet.  We went last week.  Or maybe it was the week before.  I don’t remember because I don’t remember much.  But I do remember not really wanting to see it in the first place because I’m not one to get overly pumped about Sci-Fi movies that get so much press.  It’s not that I don’t think they’ll be good, it’s just that I want to avoid the Nerd Factor, which is when the theatre is filled to capacity with nerds.  I’m not a nerd.  I’m not cool, for sure, but I’m not a nerd because I’m not smart and I would never go to the theatre to see a movie dressed in full costume.

Exhibit A:

  

Exhibit B:

Exhibit C:

And this isn’t a good example, but if Twilight had Nerd Costumes that looked any different than Crazy Screaming Teenage Girl, this young lady would be wearing it:

Anyway, so I don’t usually like to go see movies that might attract nerds, in case it’s contagious, especially while it’s still fresh in the theatres.  And it’s no offence to the movie itself, usually they turn out to be very good, or sometimes just pretty good, or in the very least watchable. 

So, I caved because we had a day of free babysitting and nothing to do other than see a movie and there wasn’t really anything else we wanted to see.  And, as I’m sure you all know by now because every person in the world has seen it and has come to their own conclusion, it was very good.  Even maybe more than very good, in my opinion.  I was actually, if we’re being honest here, kind of blown away by it.

I nearly puked, in a good way, at the special effects.  Being cripplingly afraid of anything higher than a step stool, I was thanking sweet baby Jesus that we had opted out of the 3D version.  2D had me sweating and physically holding in my $9.00 nachos.  But I appreciated that it was amazing.  The effects were worth the price of admission alone.

Then there was the story.  When I saw it, I didn’t think anything was off; it was ok – not mind-blowing or super surprising or anything, but ok.  But then I got this in my feed reader the other day:

epic fail pictures

see more Epic Fails

So that’s why it seemed so familiar…

But whatever.  I don’t care.  I still think it was an excellent movie that deserves every inch of attention it’s getting.  And if, for some reason, like you’ve been trapped under a boulder in a cave in the rainforest somewhere and have been surviving on bugs and your own urine and you haven’t seen the movie yet, I recommend that you do.  Oh, and congrats on getting un-stuck.

***

Fun piece of trivia: While eating supper, I was thinking about this post and I realized that I had spelled “exhibit” incorrectly three times.  I immediately dropped my fork and ran to the computer to do an edit.  Because I’m dedicated to my craft, people.  Hunger be damned, spelling comes first.

9 thoughts on “The latest Avatar review ever.

  1. Wow, it’s soo much like Pocahontas when you compare them like that. The first movie that came to mind for me was FernGully. It was still awesome, though, no matter how many cartoons it stole from.

  2. I wasn’t going to see that movie because I am really really not a sci-fi person. However, the buzz about this movie and now your review have really got me intrigued!! I think you’ve changed my mind!

    P.S. LOL about letting hungar be damned!! Way to stay dedicated!

    P.P.S. The only movie I’ve seen lately (and it’s an old one) is Four Christmasas and it was really cute and funny and worth a watch!

    • Oh good! If you go, you’ll definitely not regret it. There’s something for everyone – action and adventure, a love story, funny bits (well, not laugh out loud funny, but amusing). I think you’ll really like it.

  3. I am one of those people who have been trapped under a boulder in a cave in the rainforest somewhere and have been surviving on bugs and your own urine and haven’t seen the movie yet.

    I am in no way a Sci -Fi person at all, and will probably wait until in comes out on DVD…if only because I never seem to fit on watching a movie that is not on my TV!!! lol

    • I feel like I should clarify that Avatar is probably only Sci-Fi in the technical sense. I am also in no way a Sci-Fi person, and I didn’t feel like this was a Sci-Fi movie. Like I said, it’s action but it’s also a love story. As long as you promise to eventually see it…

Talk to me

