Banana Milk. *UPDATE*

Do you remember banana milk?  I do.  Fondly.  When I was little, Nesquik made banana milk syrup, just the same as their chocolate and strawberry milk syrup, and it was delicious.  I can taste it in my mind right now…

But was this a real thing?  I can’t find proof it ever existed, and TRUST ME, I’ve been looking.

I’ve found this:

But it’s pre-mixed and you buy it in the refrigerated section.  That’s not what I’m talking about.  I’m talking about the un-pre-mixed syrup so you can make it as banana-y or un-banana-y as you want.

The liquid is ideal, but yesterday at my local British shoppe (I think all British and candy shops should be given the respect of an extra ‘p’ and an ‘e’, out of respect) I found this:

which is pretty much the exact same thing, only powder.  Which kind of completely figures because AH is always trying to convince me that food from the U.K. is better than the food here and I try to fight him and I think this product alone proves me wrong.  I actually kind of hope it does.

I’m so excited, it’s completely disproportional.  It’s just milk.  But, dudes.  Dooooods.  It’s BANANA MILK.  It’s DELICIOUS.  Caps lock/italics delicious.  It was also $6.99, in Canadian funds, so it better be delicious. 

I haven’t actually tried it yet because I just bought it yesterday and I have the memory of a dying goldfish and completely forgot about it until this morning.  And it’s really more of an evening beverage.

Ever get really excited for something you remember from your childhood, only to discover that it was absolutely revolting and you’re pretty sure your parents should have handed their children over to the proper authorities for allowing them to consume such atrocities?  Like cotton candy?  Or Pop Rocks©?  Or these:

*shudder*

I’m afraid Banana Milk will be like that.  I’ve built it up so much in my head and it’s going to taste like liquid gruel.  I don’t even know what gruel is, but it sounds like it probably doesn’t taste like the Banana Milk in my head.  Which is delicious, if you haven’t caught on yet.  And gruel probably tastes like those little pellets that fly off of tires when you’re burning rubber, but in more of a porridge-type texture.  And also cold.  Gruel is probably cold.

Now I’m sad for my Banana Milk.  I’m sad because it’s probably going to disappoint me and I know it wants to live up to my expectations.  But the fact of the matter is, Banana Milk, sometimes our expectations are based on memories created more than two decades ago.  So, if you don’t taste the way I want you to taste, believe me when I say, it’s not you.  It’s me.

***

UPDATE – I remembered to try it last night and oh my.  It was EXACTLY the way I remember and did not disappoint.  I wish it were liquid because it took some muscle work to get it mixed up properly, but it was worth it in the end.

CONCLUSION – Banana Milk is the bestest.

22 thoughts on “Banana Milk. *UPDATE*

    • It’s also a 20-year-old Canadian thing, because they stopped making it back in the 80’s, I believe. Unless it never existed. In that case, I need a nap.

      • they probably stopped making it because only one person ever bought it… your mother … 😉

        what’s the addy of the british shoppe?

        have you tried british dairy milk chocolate? it’s made with real cream, not powder – it’s awesome. they have a variety of dairy milk that has small chucks of “crunchie” toffee mixed in – it’s a chocoholic’s delight!

    • Conspiracy theory
      Banana milk was killed by McDonald’s and Walmart
      WE used to have three flavored milks
      Choclate, strawberry and banana…
      Then one year McDonalds decided to do mint green milk,
      Then everybody did it
      Since there was no room for mint milks in the stores, they took the spaces formally used for banana and made it a seasonal milk, like egg nog for Christmas mint for St paddy’s and orange for some reason..

      meanwhile the banana milk was forgotten and spoiled without ever being on the shelf, so retailers didn’t reorder and manufacturers stopped making it.
      as for walmart if 80% of America

  1. Weird – I never ever heard of this banana milk you remember so fondly. But yes – it doesn’t surprise me that you found it at a British Shoppe! They are lovely places filled with far better foodie items than we can hope to find here. Case in point – chocolate covered biscuits. Actually, anything chocolately that comes out of the UK is far superior than anything – even Laura Secord – can conjure up here. Hence why I am an unabashed Anglophile.

    • I mostly agree with you, except I’m not going to gain any friends when I say this: I don’t like British Smarties. It’s the orange ones. They are orange flavoured and I don’t like orange chocolate, so that’s an entire colour ruined.

      But, yes. The rest of the chocolate is divine.

  2. I totally remember banana milk. You are not making it up at all. I can’t believe you found it again — but like you I fear it’s one of those childhood things that you are supposed to remember with love, but never try to eat again in adulthood.

  3. Remember the candy cigs that had powder in them, and when you blew into them, it looked like smoke? I always inhaled. I’m sure you’re shocked by this. Then I would gasp and cry and do it again the next day.

    Also, I threw up in my mouth looking at the banana milk container.

    But I’m also the kid who inhaled the gum powder cigarettes. Why were our parents not concerned? Because it was better than smoking their real cigarettes. Those mofos are expensive.

    • I preferred the chocolate cigarettes. But I never pretended to smoke them. I just ate them. And maybe they weren’t so much cigarettes as they were full sized Snickers bars. Whatever. Memory is fuzzy sometimes.

  4. I’m so happy for you that it turned out just the way you remembered it! That is awesome.

    I’m not a milk drinker, but you are making me want to try this banana version.

  5. I’m 24 and I remember Banana Milk!!! ..It came in a bottle just like the strawberry and chocolate versions, It was the Syrup kind not the powder.

    It’s about as popular as Milo is (Milo is a deep malt chocolate energy mix/powder made by nesquik). It made the best Coco and best chocolate milk.

    lol..And I also do remember the little white cigarette candies that you could blow little dust threw like you were smoking. ..tasted like small sugar sticks

Talk to me

