Doesn’t count as lying if it’s for a good cause.

Crunch, crunch, crunch.

“What’r you eating, Mommy?”

“Vegetables.”

Crunch, crunch, crunch.

(They were Mini Eggs.  I wanted them all to myself.)

***

Me, on the phone.

“Ooose it?”

“A scary, bad man.”

“Me talk?”

“You want to talk to a scary, bad man?  He might yell at you.”

“No WAY.”

(It was my mom.  A two minute phone call would have turned into an hour long ordeal if she knew the truth.)

***

“What are you doing in there MOMMY???”

“DOIN’ MOMMY?”

“Pooping.”

“Gwoss.”

(I just wanted to be alone.)

19 thoughts on “Doesn’t count as lying if it’s for a good cause.

  1. I do the exact same thing about the “pooping” thing. I have a fear that Hannah will tell someone that “mommy poops a lot!!!”. I tell her that I have to poop everytime I go into the bathroom – I too need to be alone. She runs away screaming – “that is disgusting mommy”. She waits on the other side of the door though – so really is that alone time for me????

  2. hehehe, been there, done those! Especially the first one! I’m also guilty of “Mommy, can I have a turn on the computer now”? Me – “Not yet honey, Mommy is doing her “work”. I’ll probably be another 30 minutes'”… I say as I am posting on your blog or on Facebook!

Talk to me

