30 Days of Truth – Day Two

Day 2 – Something you love about yourself

This one is weird.  It’s hard to say what you love about yourself without coming across snooty or braggartish.  I’ll try, but I’m the super amazing at being humble, so it will be difficult.

I’m probably the best person I’ve ever met at being silly.  I love that I know when it’s appropriate and when it’s inappropriate.  And when it is appropriate, I’m awesome at silly.  I know that life is too short to take it so seriously all the time.  I know that laughing will give you years.  I know that puking is hilarious.

ADULTS DON’T NEED TO ACT SO GROWN UP ALL THE TIME.  Loosen up.  Let your hair down.  Laugh.  At yourself, at others, at life.  Just laugh.

Making people laugh is one of my greatest joys in life and I’m willing to make a complete horse’s ass of myself to get it.  But I think (I hope) I know when to reel it in.  When enough is enough.  This is 50% of mastering silly.  You don’t tell farty jokes to seniors.  Some might appreciate it, but in general they frown and detest you for your youth.  You don’t tell sweary jokes to children.  The parents may react strongly.  You don’t get loud and ridiculous at a funeral.  Poor taste.  

But I’m a comedienne.  Naturally and enthusiastically.  Not everyone gets my humour, and that’s ok, but if you do, you know what I’m talking about.

I love that I’ve peed my pants several times and I’m not at all embarrassed to tell the internets about it.  I love that I have no shame in wearing Mickey ears as a grown woman while walking around a theme park.  And I’d totally sing and dance in public for my kids just to make them laugh.  Or to mortify my family.  In fact, I play a game called “Would You Still Be My Sister If…” with my siblings wherein I do something over-the-top like hike my pants up to my armpits, or do an exaggerated gangsta walk, or talk with a pirate accent, just to make them cringe.  Cringe and laugh.  The laughing is the most important part, right after the cringing.

So what if I’m 30 years old?  If there were Silly Olympics, I’d take the gold medal, which, by the by, would be made of chocolate because a girl needs fuel, you know?  And my specialties would be Sibling Mortification and Giving Nicknames to Poop*.

Day 2 – I love that I’m silly.

***

* On vacay, I discovered that I have a talent for taking all the names of the original Beanie Babies and turning them into discriptive poop names.  This was during an otherwise civilized game of Travel Trivial Pursuit, Pop Culture Edition, of which I pwned.

27 thoughts on “30 Days of Truth – Day Two

  1. Yes, you are. You are the greatest kind of silly imaginable. Great, great post. Ps- I wrote “silky” instead of silly at first and cracked myself up.

  2. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Four «

  3. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Five «

  4. Pingback: 30 Days Of Truth – Day Six «

  5. Pingback: 30 Days Of Truth – Day Seven «

  6. Pingback: 30 Days Of Truth – Day Eight «

  7. Pingback: 30 Days Of Truth – Day Nine «

  8. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Ten, Eleven & Twelve «

  9. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Thirteen «

  10. Pingback: 30 Days Of Truth – Day Fourteen «

  11. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Fifteen «

  12. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Seventeen «

  13. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Sixteen «

  14. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Eighteen «

  15. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Nineteen «

Talk to me

