30 Days of Truth – Day Five

Day 5 – Something you hope to do in your life.

I’m a pretty simple girl.  Not simple “dumb”, but simple as in it doesn’t take a whole lot for me to be happy.  I’ve got the family I want, I’ve got the friends I want, I live where I want.  I don’t have visions of grandeur when it comes to travel or achieving fame or accumulating a vast wealth, although I wouldn’t mind any of that.

But if I had to pick one thing that I hope I will be able to do in my life (which, apparently, I do), it would be to find professional satisfaction.  Even, if I dare to be bold, professional happiness.  I’m not even sure what it would take for that to happen.  I know I love to write.  I know I love to make people laugh or think or be entertained.  I know I love to be creative.  I also know I’m not completely comfortable at customer service of any sort.  I’m not a great business mind and finances bore me.

I’d like to do something that fulfills me.  Something that, when asked “and what do you do?”, I can answer without preempting my answer with “just…”.  Right now, I like my job in that I like the people I work with and my bosses are pretty cool and the pay is fair and the benefits are more than fair and it’s close to home and I’m good at it and I feel as secure as anyone possibly could in this economic climate.  But still.

I hope that one day I’ll be able to find something that excites me.  Something that I can earn a decent living doing that will bring me great joy and a feeling of completeness, professionally.  Like I’m doing what I’m supposed to be doing.  Like when I’m dead and gone and people ask my children what their mother did, they can answer with pride.  My mother was a …

Dot dot dot.

So who knows what this all adds up to mean.  I haven’t even begun to try to figure it out.  But that’s my hope.  That one day I’ll be somebody who loves what they do and not just someone who does what they do out of necessity.

***

Day 1 – Something you hate about yourself.

Day 2 – Something you love about yourself.

Day 3 – Something you have to forgive yourself for.

Day 4 – Something you have to forgive someone else for.

21 thoughts on “30 Days of Truth – Day Five

  1. Are we the same person? Re: “I’d like to do something that fulfills me. Something that, when asked “and what do you do?”, I can answer without preempting my answer with “just…”.”

    Yeah. We’re the same person. Love you tons, and I have no doubt that you’ll find this. You rock too hard not to; you’re too intelligent, open, warm and beautiful inside and out. You can’t NOT find your niche. UNPOSSIBLE.

  2. Why is it that this is something so true to our generation? Why do we seek such meaning in our occupation? Were our parents happy in their jobs or to them a job was simply a means to feed us and keep a roof above our heads and didn’t seek that joyful bliss in their work?

    What about the next generation? Kids currently in college and high school… will they be like us too or will they find a new thing to occupy their brains and their hearts? Or… will they be the result of successful career planning in schools and be satisfied from the get go? hahaha, yeah, I’m still laughing about that too!

    • I don’t think this is anything new. If seeking happiness in what one does was new, we wouldn’t have poems or classic works of art or beautiful pieces of historical literary works. We wouldn’t have advancements in science or technology. All these people responsible for enriching our lives with things they’ve created found what they loved and had passion for and turned that into their profession.

      I absolutely believe some of our parents were happy with their occupations. Not all of them, surely, and maybe not even most of them, but some. Striving for satisfaction and self fulfilment isn’t generational. Perhaps the difference is that we have the words to express our displeasure now and a means to make those words heard.

  3. Pingback: 30 Days Of Truth – Day Six «

  4. Pingback: 30 Days Of Truth – Day Seven «

  5. Pingback: 30 Days Of Truth – Day Eight «

  6. Pingback: 30 Days Of Truth – Day Nine «

  7. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Ten, Eleven & Twelve «

  8. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Thirteen «

  9. Pingback: 30 Days Of Truth – Day Fourteen «

  10. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Fifteen «

  11. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Seventeen «

  12. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Sixteen «

  13. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Eighteen «

  14. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Nineteen «

Talk to me

