30 Days Of Truth – Day Six

Day 6 – Something you hope you never have to do.

I think every parent will probably say the same thing – I hope I never have to bury a child – but that’s because it’s the truth.  Out of every possible horrible thing that could ever happen in this whole world, that’s the one thing I’d choose to never have to do.

It’s a terrible thing to think about, either way, but the fact is, parents should never outlive their children.  I am extremely fortunate that my kids are healthy.  Extremely fortunate, and I recognize that every day.  But that doesn’t stop me from having nightmares (literally) about awful things happening, like them being kidnapped or someone breaking into my house and harming them or accidents of all kinds.  One thing I did while we were away because of these nightmares was dress the girls the same.  Sure, I looked like the crazy mom who dressed their kids like matching Barbie dolls, but it served a greater purpose than to make them look adorable.  I did it so that if either one of them went missing, I wouldn’t have to think about what they were wearing.  I’d know just by looking at the other one.  These nightmares are also the reason why I still use baby monitors for both of them, despite them being two and four years old.  And why I always walk on the road side of sidewalks and why I never, EVER let go of their hands in public and why the four year old still sleeps with a bed rail and the two year old is still in a crib.  Because I endlessly worry about bad things happening to them.  Like any parent does.

I hope I never have to bury either of my children.  It would kill me, honestly and completely.  My children are my life and without them, I couldn’t go on.

***

Day 1 – Something you hate about yourself.

Day 2 – Something you love about yourself.

Day 3 – Something you have to forgive yourself for.

Day 4 – Something you have to forgive someone else for.

Day 5 – Something you hope to do in your life.

19 thoughts on “30 Days Of Truth – Day Six

  1. This actually makes me feel better-knowing someone else holds hands no matter what, only walks on sidewalks, etc. We just…. Love them so, right? Great post.

  2. Pingback: 30 Days Of Truth – Day Seven «

  3. Pingback: 30 Days Of Truth – Day Eight «

  4. Pingback: 30 Days Of Truth – Day Nine «

  5. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Ten, Eleven & Twelve «

  6. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Thirteen «

  7. Pingback: 30 Days Of Truth – Day Fourteen «

  8. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Fifteen «

  9. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Seventeen «

  10. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Sixteen «

  11. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Eighteen «

  12. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Nineteen «

Talk to me

