30 Days Of Truth – Day Fourteen

Day 14 – A hero that has let you down. (letter)

Dear Person Who Doesn’t Exist,

You disappoint me in your nonexistence.  Reveal yourself so I can be let down by your inability to be super-human and unconditionally perfect.  I will forgive you for being you and you can forgive me for having unrealistic expections and we’ll move on.  I might even invite you over for a drink (I make a pretty strong screwdriver) and we’ll laugh and laugh about that silly pedestal I had you on.  Then we’ll get drunk.  Rowdy drunk.  I’ll say things I’ll later regret about you being a disappointment to the whole of mankind.  You’ll say things you’ll regret about me and my oversized hands.  I’ll probably slap your regular, un-heroic face.  You’ll stare at me shocked, holding your cheek with your stupid normal-sized hands.  Then we’ll fall into a blubbering pile of sobs and broken dreams.  We’ll hug and make up (again).  I’ll call you a cab, you’ll go home, and I’ll “accidentally” lose your number.  Because, man, THAT was awkward.

Love, Jen O.

***

Day 1 – Something you hate about yourself.

Day 2 – Something you love about yourself.

Day 3 – Something you have to forgive yourself for.

Day 4 – Something you have to forgive someone else for.

Day 5 – Something you hope to do in your life.

Day 6 – Something you hope you never have to do.

Day 7 – Someone who has made your life worth living for.

Day 8 – Someone who made your life hell, or treated you like shit.

Day 9 – Someone you didn’t want to let go, but just drifted.

Day 10 – Someone you need to let go, or wish you didn’t know.

Day 11 – Something people seem to compliment you the most on.

Day 12 – Something you never get compliments on.

Day 13 – A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days.

12 thoughts on “30 Days Of Truth – Day Fourteen

    • See, that’s what I’m talking about. I don’t put people up on a pedestal and think of them as a hero anymore because we all falter. Robert Munsch is fantastic, a writer I deeply admire and have since childhood, but the pressure of being someone’s hero is unfair. I may have referred to him as a hero in my post on MamaPop, but I didn’t really mean it that way. Or at least I realize how unrealistic that title is to give to people.

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Seventeen «

  2. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Sixteen «

  3. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Eighteen «

  4. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Nineteen «

Talk to me

