30 Days of Truth – Day Seventeen

Day 17 – A book you’ve read that changed your views on something.

Every book I read leaves an impression.  I learned a lot about humour from Haven Kimmel after reading A Girl Named Zippy.  She writes about her life in a style I wish I could write.  It was one of the only books I would laugh out loud page after page while reading in the library on break.  I’ve continued to follow her writing with her other books and I still admire her skill.  And I still LOL at every written page.

But the book that most changed my view on something is undoubtedly Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortensen.  The book, if you haven’t read it, is about a mountain climber who turns his passion for the people of the mountains of the middle east into a mission of education.  His philosophy is that in order to improve life for millions, to bring peace to the world, you must first educate the young, especially the girls.

The story inspired me to Do Something, along with the list I linked to in the post.  Anything.  Apathy will kill us.  If you don’t care enough to do something, who will?  It doesn’t have to be as ambitious and grandiose as Greg, who routinely braves active war zones and deals with some of the world’s most dangerous people all in the name of building schools for these children.  It can be as simple as speaking up when you see children bullying others, or giving a sandwich to a homeless person on the streets, or even paying a compliment to someone who looks sad.

Three Cups of Tea changed the way I live my life.  Not drastically, but permanently.  I organize my office’s food drive at Christmas.  I contribute financially to the local women’s shelter by way of payroll deduction.  It’s not much, but it’s something.

We don’t need to risk our lives or bankrupt ourselves in order to make a difference in this world.  Certainly, it takes people willing to do those things, but the little things count for more than you’d imagine.

***

Day 1 – Something you hate about yourself.

Day 2 – Something you love about yourself.

Day 3 – Something you have to forgive yourself for.

Day 4 – Something you have to forgive someone else for.

Day 5 – Something you hope to do in your life.

Day 6 – Something you hope you never have to do.

Day 7 – Someone who has made your life worth living for.

Day 8 – Someone who made your life hell, or treated you like shit.

Day 9 – Someone you didn’t want to let go, but just drifted.

Day 10 – Someone you need to let go, or wish you didn’t know.

Day 11 – Something people seem to compliment you the most on.

Day 12 – Something you never get compliments on.

Day 13 – A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days.

Day 14 – A hero that has let you down. (letter)

Day 15 – Something or someone you couldn’t live without, because you’ve tried living without it.

Day 16 – Someone or something you definitely could live without.

6 thoughts on “30 Days of Truth – Day Seventeen

  1. I am coming over from Mean Girl Garage’s blog and glad I did! I loved Three Cups of Tea and am so glad you brought it up. I want to stay motivated from it! It was an awesome book. I think I need to keep it out on my nightstand all the time. Thanks for inspiring me!

  2. I didn’t read the book, but I saw him speak. Amazing. Inspiring.

    I haven’t gone quite “organize the drive” on it though. Maybe I do need to read it myself, eh?

  3. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Eighteen «

  4. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth – Day Nineteen «

Talk to me

