30 Days of Truth – Day Nineteen

Day 19 – What do you think of religion? Or what do you think of politics?

I’m going to get the second half out of the way – politics.  I probably couldn’t care less about politics.  It’s terrible, I know.  As an adult I should be well versed in the ins and outs of my country’s politics, but … it’s all so boring.  I vote, and I do my due diligence leading up to voting day.  I don’t just close my eyes and point; I know what I’m doing.  But beyond that?  I can’t bring myself to read or watch political news without daydreaming about donuts and slippers and twinkle lights.

::sigh::

Religion.  Let me make the distinction between spirituality and religion.  I believe in … something.  I don’t know what.  So, I suppose that’s not a belief.  Let’s say I am certainly open to the possibility of something bigger than us.  But religion?  It’s hard when you’re not sure about so much.

Growing up, I was given an extremely varied exposure to religion.  At least to the Christian denominations.  I went to Sunday school at the Salvation Army church.  I attended vacation bible school every single March Break and summer vacation at a number of different churches – S.A., Catholic, Seventh Day Adventist, pentecostal.  I was a Brownie, which is sort of non-denominationally Christian.  I was a Calvinette, which is Christian Reformed.  I went to High ‘C’, which is … I don’t remember what.  So, I’ve seen and lived it all.  All without ever being baptized.

::GASP::

My parents are not religious.  My mom was raised in the church, and I’m sure she believes in God, as does my dad, but I’ve never known her to attend church unless there’s a wedding or a funeral.  I think they became who I became – someone open to letting their children make up their own minds about God.

I am not only accepting of people with religion, I am ENCOURAGING.  My husband is Catholic, as are my children.  That was important to him and his family, so it was fine by me that we baptize them Catholic and allow them to attend Catholic school.  However, I am not Catholic and I have no intentions of converting.  I think it’s important that they have the exposure to the religion of his side of the family so that they are well equipped to make up their own mind in the future as to what and how they choose to believe.  Or not.  It’s up to them to decide.

As for me, now, I believe in living my life as best I can.  Be good to people.  Treat them as you’d like them to treat you, and all that.  Did I learn this from how I was raised?  Probably.  The bible, while having some pretty messed up bits, does teach some good moral lessons.  But they could be compiled in a book call Live Like You’re Not An Ass, or something.  The Handbook Of Common Sense, perhaps.

Is there a God?  I don’t know.  Maybe.  Maybe not.  Maybe God isn’t his name.  Maybe he’s a she.  Maybe it’s a whole committee of Gods who vote on natural disasters and who lives and who dies and all that.  Or maybe there isn’t anyone but us running things.  Maybe this thing called Free Will wasn’t a gift.  Maybe it’s just the way things are.

***

Day 1 – Something you hate about yourself.

Day 2 – Something you love about yourself.

Day 3 – Something you have to forgive yourself for.

Day 4 – Something you have to forgive someone else for.

Day 5 – Something you hope to do in your life.

Day 6 – Something you hope you never have to do.

Day 7 – Someone who has made your life worth living for.

Day 8 – Someone who made your life hell, or treated you like shit.

Day 9 – Someone you didn’t want to let go, but just drifted.

Day 10 – Someone you need to let go, or wish you didn’t know.

Day 11 – Something people seem to compliment you the most on.

Day 12 – Something you never get compliments on.

Day 13 – A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days.

Day 14 – A hero that has let you down. (letter)

Day 15 – Something or someone you couldn’t live without, because you’ve tried living without it.

Day 16 – Someone or something you definitely could live without.

Day 17 – A book you’ve read that changed your views on something.

Day 18 – Your views on gay marriage.

 

3 thoughts on “30 Days of Truth – Day Nineteen

  1. I was raised Catholic, and M went to a Catholic school up until this year. I feel very similar to you — I’d call myself Agnostic but open. I’m not sure I’m very keen on organized religion, but the idea of Something Bigger Than Us out there definitely holds sway with me.

  2. I’m the same way about politics. I want to care, but I just don’t care that much. My husband keeps me up to date on need to know stuff, but I don’t pay attention much other than that.

Talk to me

