30 Days of Truth – THE REST

Shush.

Day 20 – Your views on drugs and alcohol.

Ok, so, let’s finish this.  My views on drugs and alcohol.  Um, well, I don’t do drugs.  I’ve never done drugs.  What I have against drugs is that I don’t want to do them myself.  If you want to do drugs, meh.  Whatever, man.  It’s your life.  What am I?  Your mother?  As for alcohol?  Alcohol’s cool sometimes.  Yeah.  Totally cool.  Just don’t drink too much, I think.

NEXT.

Day 21 – (scenario) Your best friend is in a car accident and you two got into a fight an hour before. What do you do?

STUPID.  Anything other than the obvious answer (who cares about a fight, go to the hospital) would make me look like a dick.

MOVING ON.

Day 22 – Something you wish you hadn’t done in your life.

So, this one time I was crossing a busy road and my cousin’s puppy started following me and I yelled “No [insert whatever the dog’s name is…was]!  STAY!” but the dog didn’t know “stay” yet, just his name, so he thought I was calling him and so he kept coming across the street and then he got hit by a car.  And then died.  I wish I hadn’t done that because I don’t like killing puppies.

BOOM.  NEXT.

Day 23 – Something you wish you had done in your life.

I took journalism in school.  And then general arts & science because I hated journalism and thought that if I didn’t continue with school, I wouldn’t go back.  And then I took business.  Human resources.  I finished that, but never used it.  I did all this, which got me exactly nothing but thousands of dollars poorer than when I started, because I was too afraid or broke or lazy to go away to school.  I just picked out of what was offered locally and that meant I just settled.  If I had opened my horizons and chose a college out of town, I may have taken something I was actually interested in which may have led to a career I actually enjoyed.  But I didn’t.  The end.

SHAZAAM, SUCKA.  NEXT.

Day 24 – Make a playlist to someone, and explain why you chose all the songs.

This song is for anyone who has ever needed someone’s shoulder to cry on.

This song is for anyone who wants to MOVE.

This song is for SOMEONE who doesn’t like the fact that I’m putting the rest of these truths into one post.

BRING.  IT.

Day 25  – The reason you believe you’re still alive today.

Because I haven’t died yet.  I don’t mean to be so flippant, but that’s really the only explanation.

EASY.  CHALLENGE ME.

Day 26 – Have you ever thought about giving up on life? If so, when and why?

Oh!  Nice try, person who came up with these truths.  But…no, not really.  I mean, we all get angsty as a teenager, some of us worse than others, but I’ve never really wanted to give up on life.  I’m too stubborn.

NEXT.

Day 27 – What’s the best thing going for you right now?

Wow.  Everything, really.  My kids are happy and healthy and beautiful and smart and funny and I couldn’t love them more.  My husband is fantastic and together we’re doing better than ever, I think.  I’ll ask him to confirm.  I love where I live, our jobs comfortably pay our bills, our extended families are all doing well.  I’m not sick.  So, not to be braggy or anything, but everything is the best thing I’ve got going for me right now.

NEEEEXT.

Day 28 → What if you were pregnant or got someone pregnant, what would you do?

First, alert the press because that would be some sort of miracle of science right there.  Second, freak the freak out because holy CRAP I was really only prepared to have TWO kids and even THAT is too much for me most days and THREE kids would surely kill me DEAD with the responsibility and the squealing and the poop and I’ve really learned to like sleep again and newborns don’t play along with the whole sleep thing or at least MY newborns never do and HOLY CRAP HOW DID THIS HAPPEN?!?  Third, I’d have the baby and love it just as much as I do my first two.

SO.  OBVIOUS.

Day 29 – Something you hope to change about yourself. And why.

So many things.  I hope to be more patient because not everything happens at the speed I want it to happen AND THAT’S OK.  I hope to get more sleep because I’m so tired.  I hope to learn to manage my time better because then maybe I can schedule in more sleep.  I hope to lose the holiday weight because I’m the heaviest I’ve been since I had my kids.  I want to remember things.  Like, ANYTHING, because I can’t remember much now.  Also, more chocolate.

I CAN’T BELIEVE I USED TO THINK THIS WAS HARD.

LAST ONE.

HIT ME.

NOW.

Day 30 → A letter to yourself, tell yourself EVERYTHING you love about yourself.

Dear Me,

I like your humour.  I think you’re pretty funny, even if not everyone does.  I get your jokes, you know?  I get where you’re coming from and I appreciate that.

I like your overall “meh” attitude.  Not much shakes you and that’s cool.  You don’t get offended, you don’t hold grudges, you easily see both sides to every situation, and this is all because meh.  Life is too short to make such a big deal out of things, right?  Keep on and carry on, as they say, and you do.

I like how you can palm a basketball without much effort.  Your hands have opened many a stuck jar in their day and that’s awesome.  Sure, they may not be the most feminine and delicate looking hands, but they’re sturdy and strong and can take care of themselves.

I like how your write.  You don’t get much time to write for yourself, but when you do, you can write the shit out of some words.  You should do it more often.  It makes you feel good to press publish on a piece you’ve poured your blood, sweat and tears into.  You should do things that make you feel proud like that much more than you do.

I love how you’ve taken your role as a mother so seriously.  Not that you’re serious, serious.  You have as much fun as possible with your kids and that’s kind of what I mean.  Being a mother is Job #1 with you and that’s what I love.  Being a mother isn’t ALL you are, but it’s a big part.  The most important part and the part that brings you the most joy.

I love that you can actually think of things you love about yourself and you’re not ashamed to say so.

Love, Me.

***

Done.  Jen O. – OUT.

You can find the previous 19 days here.  That’s day 19 there and then the rest are linked at the bottom.  Enjoy!

17 thoughts on “30 Days of Truth – THE REST

  1. Been doing a little bit of back reading (Work? At work? Me? Never.), and I really loved the letter to yourself. You should appreciate your writing – it’s great.

Talk to me

