I have a confession…

I have a deep, dark secret.  It’s not racy or anything, so don’t get too excited.  I’m not sure how to reveal my secret without just coming out with it, so here goes nothing…

Avery, at nearly 3, still has a bottle.

Two, in fact.  A pink one and a blue one.  And she still “requires” one before she’ll even think about sleeping.  So that’s one before nap when she has one, which isn’t very often anymore, and one before bed.  There is barely more than a sip in them, which was my lame, abandoned attempt at weaning her from them months ago, but she won’t go to bed quietly without it.

I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to realize that she’s WAY TOO OLD to have a bottle.  Maybe because with the second, you’re in no hurry to have her grow up?  She’s still in a crib, too.  Eirinn got rid of her bottle and went to a big girl bed the very same month she turned 2 (as well as stopped taking a soother and getting potty trained – it was a busy month).  But with Avery, I’m just in no hurry to do anything.

So, is this weird?  I mean, I know it’s not “normal”, but is this really, REALLY not normal?  She never has it at any other time, other than before sleeping and it’s very little milk (says the mother who’s getting defensive against herself).  It’s just a comfort thing, more than anything.  Like thumb sucking or something.

I don’t know what to do because her voice is REALLY SUPER LOUD.  And she’s got a temper.  And she’s unreasonable.  So, I don’t know what to do.

BUT!  There is hope!  On the weekend, she actually ASKED to have a nap and when I went to get her bottle ready, she ASKED to have a nap WITHOUT a bottle!  She said she was too tired and wanted to go to bed right away.  And then she slept for almost 2 hours.  Every sentence in this paragraph should include one million exclamation points to illustrate just how unbelievable and out of character the whole incident was.  I don’t for one second believe this will become a regular occurrence.

Anyway.  Uh…the end?  I guess…

13 thoughts on “I have a confession…

  1. Eh.. It sounds cliched but ‘every kid develops at their own page’. Not only that, but every parent has their thing they are willing to bend a bit on. Now, I can’t relate with my own kids (my youngest would LET me keep her a baby… she did EVERYTHING earlier than her sister) but I know my sister, with her second kid, was more than willing to let him drag out certain behaviours. I don’t think letting your little one have a bottle before bed is a huge deal, eventually she WILL grow out of it.

  2. When I’m worried about all the crazy ass non age appropriate things my kids do I just find some other parent who is so hopelessly screwed up and clueless that it soothes my worry.
    For instance, you should seek out a situation where a mom is still breastfeeding her seventeen year old. That should give you enough of a shock to say “hey self, what’s the big deal about a pink and blue bottle that buys me some sanity!”
    Oh and before I get any “don’t say anything negative about breastfeeding” hate mail I’d like to mention that I do in fact endorse it and did it with all 3 for an almost abnormally long period of time.

  3. Sigh. Sounds like my oldest, who can kindly be described as “strong-willed.” She won’t take any developmental leap unless it is 100% her idea. She was over 3 before she gave up the pacifier. Nothing we could say or do made any difference. Then one day before nap she told me, “Princesses don’t use pacis.” And that was that. Now we’re struggling with potty training. So I guess I have nothing to add but hang in there (as frustrating as it is.)

  4. Have no fear– your kid will not take the bottle with her to college! Granted, you may be thinking about her teeth, coping, etc, but with my second son I finally realized that kids will do these things themselves, and we don’t need to push them onto our schedule. It sounds as if she is almost ready to give it up! I say roll with it– because it’s easier to keep it as a non-issue with a three year old!
    I will give one tiny piece of advice (and I hate doing this, so, so sorry in advance): My second didn’t have bottle issues– always wanted a cup because the flow was faster– but he did always want to have something to drink before bed. I switched him to water, and then it was no longer worth his time/effort. If you thought she might do this, it could be worth a shot!

  5. Honestly? Give yourself huge break and let her have the bottle. I would. I don’t think it’s an issue in the slightest. Really. : )

  6. Phew, what a relief! I thought I was the only mom with this deep dark secret… my 2.5 year old still has his bottle before bed. And if he doesn’t? He wakes up 1 million times in the night, therefore I’m totally not willing to lose sleep over it, yet.

  7. I’m in that club. My boy will be three in June and he still has a bottle. (I wrote a post about it too.) Same deal with sleep – before nap and at bedtime. We tried briefly to take it away. Tried to replace it with a WAY cool dinosaur cup, but no dice. When I see his friends with their normal cups and their lack of addiction to milk I get a little embarrassed. And then I remember that I’m trying to stay sane and stop worrying about it

  8. I would have had to join that club too. My now 11 year old didn’t give up her pacifier (binker) until she was 3 and a half…people used to give me a lot of crap about it but she spoke just fine and once she stopped her teeth were fine too, mostly. One day she didn’t have it and then after that she just didn’t ask for it. I hope that happens for you, too…when the time comes!

  9. it all has to start somewhere. try the “big girls don’t have bottles, look at Eirinn, she’s a big girl and doesn’t have a bottle” and if she really wants to be a big girl, she’ll see the logic. Next time “forget” about the bottle and get her ready for bed. Expect slip ups. Good luck. We had the hardest time potty training Caity – she simply refused. It wasn’t until my MIL tried the big girl speech that she decided it might be ok to pee on the toilet …

  10. I once saw a 3 year old run up to her mom and lift up her shirt and start sucking. And her mom let her.
    I wouldn’t worry too much (yet) about the bottle! 🙂

  11. Thanks everyone. Usually I like to reply to every comment, but this weekend was INSANE. So, thank you for all your comments and suggestions. I’ve read, absorbed, and appreciate all of them. I’ve learned for you all to just relax and not worry about it. And so that’s what I will do!

Talk to me

