I. Am. Canadian.

Hey.
I’m not a lumberjack, or a fur trader, and I don’t live in an igloo or eat blubber, or own a dog sled, and I don’t know Jimmy, Sally or Suzy from Canada, although I’m certain they’re really, really nice.
I have a Prime Minister, not a President. I speak English, not American, and I pronounce it ‘about’, not ‘a boot’.
I can proudly sew my country’s flag on my backpack. I believe in peacekeeping, not policing; diversity, not assimilation; and that the beaver is a truly proud and noble animal.
A tuque is a hat, a chesterfield is a couch, and it is pronounced zed: not zee – zed!!
Canada is the second largest land mass! The first nation of hockey! And the best part of North America!
My name is Jen O.!! And I am Canadian!
… Thank you.

(adapted from the Molson Canadian commercial we all know and love)

Happy Canada Day, eh?

9 thoughts on “I. Am. Canadian.

  1. Happy Canada Day! I don’t know how you celebrate but however you do, have fun. I hadn’t heard that one before but then again, I’m also an ignorant American (seriously, I say this with dripping scorn for the majority of my ‘countrymen’. As I like to say, it’s a called a stereotype for a reason.)

    Oh, and what’s a ‘zed’? Really, I’ve got nothin’.

    PS: I also can’t read as I just blindly assumed that the form was name/email/website wherease if I actually READ IT RIGHT, it CLEARLY states email/name/website. *facepalm*

  2. In North Dakota, they think we still have to fight off Indians (ah-hem, Native Americans) to get to the airport. They assume we travel by stage coach and live in the Old West. ND loves Canadians! Happy Canada Day!

Talk to me

