Four Years, Seven Posts

from Marilyn at A Lot Of Loves, who was tagged.  I’m just out-right stealing it.

Searching through my archives is a very odd exercise.  I see the journey I’ve made with this place – from strictly a mommyblog to a dumping ground for anything I deem worthy, from humourous quips to heavy pieces of short fiction.  It’s a weird trip and a daunting one.  I’ve pressed publish 715 times here and every post is a peek inside of me, so picking favourites or awarding titles is strange and difficult.  Much like picking favourite children, if I had 715 kids.  But here we are and there they stand, my Seven Posts.

1. Most Beautiful Post:

This is a short little thing I wrote for AH’s birthday last year – My Dream, Our Dream.  I don’t know if it’s my most beautiful post, but it’s pretty close, I’m sure.

2. Most Popular Post:

I feel like a fraud telling you what my most popular post is because it’s a post that tricks people into reading it, given it’s title and the name of my blog, really.  Why “My Tornado Alley” wasn’t my most popular post in a single day, but it continues to bring views daily, mostly from people Googling “tornado alley.”  It’s especially popular during times of stress throughout the ACTUAL tornado alley, presumably among students doing report papers.  Sorry about that, folks.  I can’t help you with your grade, but I can tell you why I decided to name my blog My Tornado Alley, in turn wasting a lot of kids’ time when they click the link, thinking they’ve struck paydirt.

3. Most Controversial Post:

I don’t really do controversy.  That would involve confrontation and I don’t really do that.  Not even from the safety of hiding behind my computer.  Not that I’m afraid of it, I just don’t give enough shits about anything to be controversial.  But if I had to pick, I’d say, surprisingly, H1N1 – We Tried, Then We Left.  I’ve never had a troll or even a bad comment (I know, I know), but this one came the closest, although the attempts were rather lame.  I did have one fairly biting comment on this post that I actually deleted (my blog, my rules), and I still remember it to this day – something to the effect of “I hope you get H1N1 and die so there would be one less mommyblogger in the world.”, but probably with more spelling mistakes and cuss words. 

4. Most Helpful Post:

How am I supposed to know if a post is helpful or not?  I guess the only way I can judge is if it were an instructional post with a good number of hits.  *shrug*  I dunno.  How To Make A Treasure Map is probably really, really NOT helpful, but it IS instructions on how to make a treasure map and people do seem to get a lot of use out of it, especially around Halloween.

5. Post Whose Success Surprised You:

The One Where I Talk About Killing Kittens And Llamas And Building Car Towers On Purpose.  I thought this one was…funny, I guess.  But the views keep on coming because there are a disturbing number of people on the internet who Google “killing kittens”.  Seriously, you people are messed up.  I don’t even know what to say to you.

6. A Post You Feel Didn’t Get the Attention it Deserved.

Well, I don’t think any of my posts get the attention they deserve, but that’s because I’m greedy and an attention who-er sometimes.  But if I had to pick one that I THOUGHT would get more attention than it did, I’d say…GAH, this is hard.  Um…The Weight Of All Of Her Things.  I don’t know why.  I just picked one that wasn’t near the top of the pageview list.

7. Post You are Most Proud of:

Surrender.  My first submission to the Indie Ink Challenge.  This was both the easiest and the most difficult post for me to write and I left my blood, sweat, and tears on the page the day I wrote it.  It’s probably not my best work, but it’s my favourite.

2 thoughts on “Four Years, Seven Posts

Talk to me

