Day Six Of Shamelessness

Act “girly” or “manly” in a way you’d normally avoid.

Short of being a pre-op transgendered woman, I am close to the least “girly” chick you’d ever meet, so pretty much anything I do that would swing on the side of feminine could count here.  But I decided to do a few of the most stereotypical “girly” activities I could think of.  You know, go big or go home.  Wait, that was a very “manly” phrase.  I’ll get back to you when I think of something less butch to say about it all.

I went shopping.  FOR MAKEUP.  I would never do such a thing.  I mean, I wear makeup, but just the bare minimum and it’s certainly not something I like.  I usually wear powder to even out my skin tone, a touch of blush because I’m pale, mascara because my eyelashes are long, but light, and lip balm.  A bit of a smokey eye if I’m feeling saucy.  But, really, my makeup kit has maybe a dozen items in it, including tweezers and nail clippers.

I realized I had a bunch of Shopper’s Drug Mart points and so why not spend them on something I wouldn’t ever think to spend them on?

My bounty.  Boys, let me present to you what about $90 will buy.

Not a lot, eh?  Mascara, pressed powder, lip gloss, eye liner, blush, three jars of nail polish, lip balm, a couple of hair…stuffs, and antiperspirant.  Not too impressive, girth-wise.  Also not too impressive in that I stuck with what I know.  I always use Cover Girl powder, and Professional mascara.  They’re cheap, but I just like those the best.  I chose a sheer lip gloss in a fairly neutral colour because I can’t bring myself to wear lipstick.  It’s just…too much for my face.

Gosh Wild Lilac, Essie Ballet Slippers, Revlon No Shrinking Violet (for my toes)

I am, however, excited about the nail polish.  I never, and I mean NEVER, wear nail polish.  I think nails are weird and I don’t see the point of them, so I cut them as short as I can.  But I’ll give it a try.  I can be girly.  Stop laughing.  Yes, I can.

Alright.  I’m done being girly.  I can be done, right?  Being a girl is hard and very expensive.

***

The 30 Days

Day One

Day Two

Day Three

Day Four

Day Five

19 thoughts on “Day Six Of Shamelessness

  1. a) I like the new header a lot. I really thought the pictrue of you being a fool at age 2 in the pool was a whole newlevel of cute, but this header fits the blog better.

    b) I agree with the above commenter, a picture of you with said warpaint on is needed to gauge if you got your money’s worth.

    thanks for sharing

  2. I am actually dreading this one on the list, as like you, the only time the word “feminine” enters my line of thinking is when I overhear a commercial for “feminine hygeine.” Even then I just say, what the hell? Say “douche!”

    Anyway, big round of applause for your efforts with this one. I want the job of whoever names nail polish colors. They’re always descriptive of everything but what the color is.

  3. I love the colors you chose for polish, and I know too well how expensive it is to be a girl even if you dont participate that much in the preening.

    I have to color my hair. have to. I am 38 and 75% gray. I am not any kind of ready to deal with commentary about my 3 yr old being my grandson. But that’s about the only girly way I take care of my appearance. I do dress pretty girly though.

  4. Pingback: Day Seven Of Shamelessness |

  5. I agree with the need for pics. Isn’t there a rule about blogs that when you get at least 3 written requests from your readers you must oblige? Yeah. I believe such a rule exists.

    My limit on the make-up stuff is Burts Bee’s lipgloss and red toe nails. That’s it. Oh and I wear a bra. Does that count? I’m stalled on my 30 days of shame. Sigh.

  6. Pingback: Day Eight Of Shamelessness |

  7. Pingback: Day Nine Of Shamelessness |

  8. Pingback: Day Ten Of Shamelessness |

  9. Pingback: Day Eleven Of Shamelessness |

  10. Pingback: Day Twelve Of Shamelessness |

  11. Pingback: Day Fifteen Of Shamelessness |

Talk to me

