Day Seven Of Shamelessness

Share your efforts at something you don’t think you do well.

There is no debate here.  I won’t try to defend myself, I won’t argue, I won’t come up with excuses.  I not only don’t think I do this well, I whole-heartedly admit that I am absolutely terrible.  Given my lineage, I should be practically prodigal, it should be in my blood, coursing through my veins, sweating out of my pores.  And yet, there is no denying that I am simply horrible.

I kill plants.

My mom’s gardens are gorgeous.  Mature and full and weed-free.  Her yard is so beautiful, in fact, my sister is getting married there next year.  She has a nack for it.  A nack, the patience, the knowledge, and the passion.  All of which she neglected to pass down to me.

I put in a valiant effort at the beginning of the season.  One of the few garden-y things I actually do enjoy is planning out the garden.  What colours to go with this season, arranging the boxes and baskets, finding which species looks good with each other.  I only mildly hate planting the flowers.  I can almost tolerate the work involved in watering and dead-heading and whatnot.  And I really do enjoy having a beautiful garden.

My problem is remembering to do all that.  Generally I don’t remember to start the garden in, what, May (that’s when you’re supposed to start, right?).  I don’t remember to water until the situation has turned dire.  I don’t remember to ask anyone to water them if I’m gone for an extended period of time.  I don’t remember to dead-head until most of the heads are, in fact, dead.  I don’t remember that at the end of the season, you should remove all the decrepit looking plants so that in the spring you’re not left to pull out rotten mush-balls of decomposing leaves and stems.  I just can not remember to do all the work involved in having a garden.

I kill plants.  It’s…kind of what I do.

***

The 30 Days

Day One

Day Two

Day Three

Day Four

Day Five

Day Six

10 thoughts on “Day Seven Of Shamelessness

  1. I have two plants that I am on a mission to not kill this summer. I had a close call when I went away for the weekend and it was 100+ outside, but they survived. I doubt they will see fall….

  2. Pingback: Day Eight Of Shamelessness |

  3. Pingback: Day Nine Of Shamelessness |

  4. Pingback: Day Ten Of Shamelessness |

  5. Pingback: Day Eleven Of Shamelessness |

  6. Pingback: Day Twelve Of Shamelessness |

  7. Pingback: Day Fifteen Of Shamelessness |

Talk to me

