I Won’t Apologize

I’m not going to apologize for car dancing to Bruno Mars once in a while

…or Flo Rida’s Good Feeling every time

…or Ice Cube’s You Can Do It for the 10 billionth time since 1999.

I won’t apologize for still thinking Mumford & Sons is a band full of musical geniuses

…or for never understanding the appeal of the Red Hot Chili Peppers

…or the Smashing Pumpkins

…or for thinking that Nirvana was one of the most influential bands of our time, but liking Dave Grohl better in the Foo Fighters.

I won’t apologize for peanut butter and brown sugar sandwiches

…or for donut ice cream sandwiches

…or for adding chocolate chips to everything.

I won’t apologize for track pants

…or fuzzy slippers

…or cotton underwear.

I won’t apologize for singing at the top of my lungs

…or dancing like a fool

…or writing my life on the internet.

I won’t apologize for having too much hair

…or too much backside

…or too much foot.

I won’t apologize for hating warm weather in the winter

…or loving the snow from the warmth of inside my house

…or having heated seats in my car.

I won’t apologize for being quiet

…or for not having an opinion one way or the other

…or for keeping it all inside.

I won’t apologize for liking movies based on comic books the best

…or my frustration toward 3D

…or refusing to watch or read anything Twilight because vampires are dumb.

I won’t apologize for making an exception for True Blood.

I won’t apologize not wearing heels

…or skirts

…or lipstick.

I won’t apologize for being hard of hearing

…or near sighted

…or disliking sports.

I won’t apologize for being me because there’s nothing wrong with who I am.

15 thoughts on “I Won’t Apologize

  1. How can you listen to 1979 or Today and not think they are two of the greatest songs in the history of ever? HOW? (Running to Spotify to listen to them now…)

    Love this, btw.

    • I can’t STAND Billy Corgan’s voice. I can’t stand his regular voice and I can’t stand that whining little kid voice and I can’t stand his singing-scream voice.

  2. I love this post! And I won’t apologize for that! Also, I need to try this peanut butter and brown sugar sandwich you speak of. I like pb and honey, or pb and marshmallow fluff, but brown sugar just sounds amazeballs.

    • I’m only a little bit ashamed to admit that I also butter the bread before I put a good, solid half-inch of peanut butter and then cover the whole thing in brown sugar. There is nothing healthy about it, but it’s damn good comfort food.

  3. Cuz it’s too late ta apologize……it’s too late… Yum, brown sugar on pbj sammich. I go the way of drowned in syrup, but this I gotta try.

  4. I’ll leave your musical confidence alone because you said nice things about my teenager, today.

    What I’ve always enjoyed the most about you is I know, like me, you are the same on the innertwitterwebz as you are in real life (whatever that is).

    Part of maturity is not apologizing for your crap, right? Way to be a grown up Jen. I like you even more, now.

Talk to me

