What Happens With Two Weeks Off

Hi, Internet.  How do I work this thing again?  Is this thing on?  Take a two week vacation and you forget how to do Internetting pretty quickly, I guess.  So we vacationed, which entailed a lot of everything and not much of anything in particular.  My sister got married halfway through, which is a post in and of itself, but I don’t have any pictures because I was in it and that would have looked silly, so I have to wait until I can steal some pictures from my sister when she gets them back from @studio816.  Then I’ll show you the pictures from a wedding for a person you don’t know and you’ll enjoy them because you’re like that.  The day after the wedding, we took our houseguests – did I mention @studio816 and his beautiful, lovely girlfriend braved Customs in order to photograph the wedding and, in return, we housed them for a few weeks days and taught them all about Canadian inventions…like poutine and Rickards and pretty much everything else – to a Jays game and everyone was in rough shape except me because I don’t really drink (I’m hashing out a post about that for later).  Later in the week, we took the girls to the Ontario Science Centre for a do-over – did I mention about Eirinn’s disasterous class trip to OSC?  The one during which she hurled repeatedly as soon as she got off the hour-long bus ride and needed to be picked up? – which was fun but crowded and I’m not sure how many communicable diseases we contracted from touching all the hands-on stuff, but I bet you it’s more than five.  And then on Friday we packed ALL THE THINGS and did a tour of cottage country, starting with my sister- and brother-in-law’s cottage for a day and a half, a drive through the hamlet where I was born, and a stay at my parents’ trailer for another day and a half.  We spent many hours on boats, soaking up some Central Ontarian sun (under a protective layer of sunscreen), and came home last night more exhausted than when we began our vacation 16 days ago.

During which time I lost the ability to paragraph.

Probably some other stuff happened, too, but I can’t remember.

I also don’t know if I remember how to blog, but I’m pretty sure that’s half the point of vacationing these days.  Unplug, unwind, unlearn basic grammar.  This vacation was a success!  I even napped once.  IN THE MORNING.  I woke up at about 9, got the kids breakfast, read a few pages of my book, began to doze, and thought eff this ess aych and took a nap on the couch.  I’m pretty much THE GREATEST VACATIONER OF OUR TIME.

I don’t remember how to end blog posts.

5 thoughts on “What Happens With Two Weeks Off

  1. I am just so glad I was able to come up there and learn how to be a Canadian. Being a Canadian is more fun than Disneyland. I assure you.

Talk to me

