Hear Me! Look At My Face!

So now that everyone’s had their turn doing that accent video thing, I’ll go.  Because I LIKE going last.  Best for last and all that or something.  Or because it’s taken me this long (this thing went around the internet back when video cameras had a crank) to find five minutes alone.  This having kids thing really cuts back on a person’s alone time.

A few weeks back, one of my very favourite bloggers, Karen Sugarpants, who just happens to also be Canadian (CANADA RULES), did this video and I was all “Pshh, she doesn’t even HAVE an accent.”  but it’s always fun to put your face onto the internet, even if you have to pawn the kids off on their unsuspecting grandparents for the day in order to be able to film yourself an embarrassing number of times before you get a take that only sort of doesn’t completely suck.

Anyway, here’s my face talking at you.  Oh, and I totally don’t pick my nose in the video.  IT WAS A SCRATCH.  God, you people are so judgy.  Stop looking at me.  Keep looking at me, but then stop looking at me.

No, I did not film this while riding atop a train through the Rockies.  I was holding my laptop on my lap (META!) because the only place that didn’t give me weird face shadows was on the ground in front of my fireplace and I’m completely not at all vain except a little bit when it comes to weird face shadows.  No one looks cute with their glasses casting upside down devil horns across their cheeks.

Anyway, that’s how I talk.  Usually I mumble more than that, but I tried real hard to speak clearly.  Aboot.

 

***

 

In case you want to play along:

Here are the words: Aunt, Route, Wash, Oil, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, Sure, Data, Ruin, Crayon, Toilet, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Spitting image, Alabama, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Syrup, Pajamas, Caught.

Here are the questions: What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house? What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball? What is the bubbly carbonated drink called? What do you call gym shoes? What do you say to address a group of people? What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs? What do you call your grandparents? What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket? What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining? What is the thing you use to change the TV channel?

A few extras for all the Canucks in the hizzouse: Drama, Process, Project, Bagel, Taco, Plaza, Mazda, the sun shone, lobster, bobby pin, hockey, dollar, Oh my God.

16 thoughts on “Hear Me! Look At My Face!

  1. We speak the same, you and I! Oh except I actually do say “dinner” and not “supper”…however that is only since living with jeff which is pretty much half my life now. Oh and LOL to the “I done been taught”…but didn’t you call them “basketball bugs” when you were a kid? I thought we all did but then everyone now calls them potato bugs and my kids love ’em!

    P.S. Go eat!

  2. “pro-cess”, not “prah-cess”?

    Cool.

    Shouldn’t it be “hawkey”?

    Lastly, you Canuckians should have to say “Detroit,” because I often hear “Detroy-it”.

    • My papa used to brutalize the pronunciation of Detroit. It was awesome. And also Kissimmee and Hawaii. It was like a puzzle, trying to figure out where he actually talking about.

    • Is that a fat joke?

      Yes, it is. Or at least it’s getting there. My goal is to be the next Crystal Gayle, but with more knots because I can’t always be expected to brush it.

  3. I like the enthusiasm you put into it. …..sarcasm

    You sound exactly like I thought. Glad I fingured that out two years ago.

    seriously, awesome to hear your voice. There’s slight canadian affectations. but not much.

    Bobina did that video like a year ago. Her southern accent is thick like maple syrup.

    • Lance – maple syrup is liquidy like water unless your talkin about that southern stuff like Aunt Jemima! (barf) You need to get your ass to Canada…

  4. We met a couple from Wisconsin in Jamaica and they would bust a gut every time we’d say out or about. Really guys? You have a Wisconsin accent and you’re making fun of us?? Plus they kept referring to how cold it must be where we’re from… Again guys, you’re from Wisconsin, most of which is further north than Toronto. We just played along though – talking “about” our winters and stuff…

    • Sounds like you made friends with a bunch of idiots. No offense to anyone form Wisconsin, but seriously? Have you listened to yourself? I’m sure you’re lovely people, but you sound weirder than we do.

Talk to me

