A Song That Describes Me

I had an incredibly difficult time with this day.  I don’t know how to describe myself, firstly, and when I did sort of kind of figure out what I think of myself, I could find nothing but depressing songs and that’s not me.  Maybe once in a while when I’m feeling especially emo, but not in general.  Most days I know exactly how little I have to complain about, certainly nothing worthy of an entire ‘woe is me, kill me in the face with sorrow’ kind of song.

So I sought outside assistance.

me: I’m having trouble with another day of the song blog thing. A song that defines me. WTF? I can’t find a song about a boring, regular person who has lived a boring, non-descript life, in a boring, suburban town. Why don’t these songs exist?
Jerrodkc74: Because that doesn’t exist. Define yourself.
 me: I just did. That’s me in a nut shell. Boring…nondescript…
Jerrodkc74: Stop that
me: Um…I’m very quiet, silly but reserved, generally very unemotional, a struggling mom, I mostly don’t give a [bleep] about what people think about me, I’m wholly and completely liberal-minded, but I don’t give a [bleep] about politics. Obviously I swear a lot. I’m cold but polite. I bake.  Any songs like that?
Jerrodkc74: Bitch. Meredith Brooks. 🙂
 me: Actually not that bad a suggestion.
And so, here’s me, Bitch by Meredith Brooks, or Nothing In Between, if you’re sensitive to the cuss words.  Not a 100% match because Meredith seems like she’s more extroverted than I am (::whispery voice:: Her bra straps are showing), but it’s as close as I could find.  I don’t even remember if I liked this song when it first came out, and now it just oozes mid-90’s, but it’s as good as any at describing me.
I am who I am and you can take it or leave it.  It’s no skin off my back if you don’t like it because I’m not really concerned about changing.

day 01 – your favorite song – I’ll Stand By You by The Pretenders
day 02 – your least favorite song – The Motto by Drake featuring Lil Wayne
day 03 – a song that makes you happy – Tightrope by Janelle Monae
day 04 – a song that makes you sad – Jar Of Hearts by Christina Perri
day 05 – a song that reminds you of someone – I Wanna Be A Friend Of Yours by Nat King Cole
day 06 – a song that reminds you of somewhere – Little Bones by The Tragically Hip
day 07 – a song that reminds you of a certain event – Sabotage by Beastie Boys
day 08 – a song that you know all the words to – Loser by Beck
day 09 – a song that you can dance to – Little Talks by Of Monsters And Men
day 10 – a song that makes you fall asleep – Somewhere Over The Rainbow by Israel Kamakawiwo’ole
day 11 – a song from your favorite band – Stadium Love by Metric
day 12 – a song from a band you hate – Can’t Stop by Red Hot Chili Peppers
day 13 – a song that is a guilty pleasure – DJ Got Us Falling In Love and Yeah by Usher
day 14 – a song that no one would expect you to love – Party Up by DMX
day 15 – a song that describes you – Bitch by Meredith Brooks
day 16 – a song that you used to love but now hate
day 17 – a song that you hear often on the radio
day 18 – a song that you wish you heard on the radio
day 19 – a song from your favorite album
day 20 – a song that you listen to when you’re angry
day 21 – a song that you listen to when you’re happy
day 22 – a song that you listen to when you’re sad
day 23 – a song that you want to play at your wedding
day 24 – a song that you want to play at your funeral
day 25 – a song that makes you laugh
day 26 – a song that you can play on an instrument
day 27 – a song that you wish you could play
day 28 – a song that makes you feel guilty
day 29 – a song from your childhood
day 30 – your favorite song at this time last year

2 thoughts on “A Song That Describes Me

Talk to me

