A Song That I Want To Play At My Funeral

Wow.  Nice question.

When I die, I don’t want people to be sad.  Well, I would hope that some people would be sad, but I don’t want my funeral to be a depressing affair, any more than it will be naturally.  I don’t want to force sadness.  “Oh, you’re not sad enough?  Well, here, listen to this and then maybe you’ll be sufficiently depressed.  MORE SADNESS.”  I want people to celebrate, not that I’m dead (Ding Dong, The Witch Is Dead!), but that I lived and that whatever happened to me to make me…dead, I’m in a better place now.

Plus, I’m pretty evil, sooo…

ZOMBIE THEMED FUNERAL!!!!  Full costume.  No excuses.  Who knows? Maybe I’ll even make a guest appearance!

Living Dead Girl by Rob Zombie!  Yay!  Fun for EVERYONE!  EVEN THE DEAD PEOPLE!

(another ‘believe it or not’ is that I was a pretty big Rob Zombie fan in high school, although by looking at me you’d never know it, and, truth be told, I still find Hellbilly Deluxe to be a thoroughly and delightfully evil album)

day 01 – your favorite song – I’ll Stand By You by The Pretenders
day 02 – your least favorite song – The Motto by Drake featuring Lil Wayne
day 03 – a song that makes you happy – Tightrope by Janelle Monae
day 04 – a song that makes you sad – Jar Of Hearts by Christina Perri
day 05 – a song that reminds you of someone – I Wanna Be A Friend Of Yours by Nat King Cole
day 06 – a song that reminds you of somewhere – Little Bones by The Tragically Hip
day 07 – a song that reminds you of a certain event – Sabotage by Beastie Boys
day 08 – a song that you know all the words to – Loser by Beck
day 09 – a song that you can dance to – Little Talks by Of Monsters And Men
day 10 – a song that makes you fall asleep – Somewhere Over The Rainbow by Israel Kamakawiwo’ole
day 11 – a song from your favorite band – Stadium Love by Metric
day 12 – a song from a band you hate – Can’t Stop by Red Hot Chili Peppers
day 13 – a song that is a guilty pleasure – DJ Got Us Falling In Love and Yeah by Usher
day 14 – a song that no one would expect you to love – Party Up by DMX
day 15 – a song that describes you – Bitch by Meredith Brooks
day 16 – a song that you used to love but now hate – Sour Times by Portishead
day 17 – a song that you hear often on the radio – Little Black Submarines by The Black Keys
day 18 – a song that you wish you heard on the radio – Bloody Mary (Nerve Endings) by Silversun Pickups
day 19 – a song from your favorite album – All Uncovered by The Watchmen
day 20 – a song that you listen to when you’re angry – Stinkfist by Tool
day 21 – a song that you listen to when you’re happy – Littlest Birds by The Be Good Tanyas
day 22 – a song that you listen to when you’re sad – Angel by Sarah McLachlan
day 23 – a song that you want to play at your wedding – Grow Old With You by Adam Sandler
day 24 – a song that you want to play at your funeral – Living Dead Girl by Rob Zombie
day 25 – a song that makes you laugh
day 26 – a song that you can play on an instrument
day 27 – a song that you wish you could play
day 28 – a song that makes you feel guilty
day 29 – a song from your childhood
day 30 – your favorite song at this time last year

7 thoughts on “A Song That I Want To Play At My Funeral

    • You’re a slave to the money, then you die.

      I probably wouldn’t choose to have a funeral. Two of my grandparents had very simple parties instead, and that was their wishes, and it was much better. No sombre ceremony, no procession to a cemetery, just a gathering of close friends and family to remember, with sandwiches. That’s it.

  1. I want the entire Jonathan Coulton songlist played at my party. That 127 songs. Start with “Code Monkey” and “The Future Soon,” and end with “Re: Your Brains” and “Still Alive.”

Talk to me

