A Song I Wish I Could Play

Anonymous Husband is the musician in our household and I come from a long line of musicians through my bloodline.  AH is a drummer without a band.  He bought his lifelong dream kit earlier this summer and on weekends he fills our house with music.  My father and his father before him are and were very talented guitar players.  A cousin of mine owns a music store, specializing in guitars.  Any invitation to a family gathering generally would include “bring your guitar and we’ll have a tune.”  My grandmother was an organist which, I’ve heard, is one of the most difficult instruments to learn.  And here I sit, talentless.

To be fair to myself, throughout high school I was very musical.  I took instrumental AND electronic music every year but my last, was in junior band, senior band, AND choir, some years overlapping because I was asked to by our teacher/conductor.  I was, long before I developed any other sort of nerd-dom, a Band Geek, through and through.  I marched in our Santa Claus Parade with a bright red suit jacket five sizes too big, and I liked it.

Alas, my weapon of choice was a clarinet, which is not at all cool (no offense current clarinet players, but seriously) and so I gave it up my second senior year.

(Odd wording, so a little back-history – in Ontario, we used to have five years in high school, grades 9 through 12 and then a grade 13 up until 1984, which was then re-titled to OAC.  Ontario Academic Credit was for students wishing to attend university, where six OAC credits were mandatory for consideration.  Some people bound for university spread out their 36 requisite credits throughout six years and graduate after OAC.  Some people who wish to simply graduate high school or those wanting to attend college graduate with 30 credits over four years.  Most people pick one or the other.  I graduated twice.  OAC and the fifth year of high school altogether was eliminated in 2003 in order to match the rest of the continent’s twelve grade system.)

(and now you know)

So, THIS has become a disturbingly long and terribly detoured post about nothing.  A song I wish I could play?  I’m just going to pick the first song AH plays when he starts drumming today.

:: Final Jeopardy song ::

(song #1 – too easy)

(song #2 – ugh…hate this song)

(song #3 – what am I, a girl?)

(song #4 – nah)

Song #5.  Mumford and Sons.  Now these boys are BEASTS on their respective instruments.  BEASTS.  If I could do half of what these guys could do, I wouldn’t be sitting here telling you about my stupid high school educational history in excruciating detail, I can tell you that much.

Roll Away Your Stone by Mumford and Sons is one to which I would love to know how to jam. It wasn’t song #5, but I could have really chosen any Mumford and Sons song and this one doesn’t get as much airplay as The Cave or Little Lion Man or even their newest I Will Wait.  They’re all ahmahzing, is what I’m getting at.

day 01 – your favorite song – I’ll Stand By You by The Pretenders
day 02 – your least favorite song – The Motto by Drake featuring Lil Wayne
day 03 – a song that makes you happy – Tightrope by Janelle Monae
day 04 – a song that makes you sad – Jar Of Hearts by Christina Perri
day 05 – a song that reminds you of someone – I Wanna Be A Friend Of Yours by Nat King Cole
day 06 – a song that reminds you of somewhere – Little Bones by The Tragically Hip
day 07 – a song that reminds you of a certain event – Sabotage by Beastie Boys
day 08 – a song that you know all the words to – Loser by Beck
day 09 – a song that you can dance to – Little Talks by Of Monsters And Men
day 10 – a song that makes you fall asleep – Somewhere Over The Rainbow by Israel Kamakawiwo’ole
day 11 – a song from your favorite band – Stadium Love by Metric
day 12 – a song from a band you hate – Can’t Stop by Red Hot Chili Peppers
day 13 – a song that is a guilty pleasure – DJ Got Us Falling In Love and Yeah by Usher
day 14 – a song that no one would expect you to love – Party Up by DMX
day 15 – a song that describes you – Bitch by Meredith Brooks
day 16 – a song that you used to love but now hate – Sour Times by Portishead
day 17 – a song that you hear often on the radio – Little Black Submarines by The Black Keys
day 18 – a song that you wish you heard on the radio – Bloody Mary (Nerve Endings) by Silversun Pickups
day 19 – a song from your favorite album – All Uncovered by The Watchmen
day 20 – a song that you listen to when you’re angry – Stinkfist by Tool
day 21 – a song that you listen to when you’re happy – Littlest Birds by The Be Good Tanyas
day 22 – a song that you listen to when you’re sad – Angel by Sarah McLachlan
day 23 – a song that you want to play at your wedding – Grow Old With You by Adam Sandler
day 24 – a song that you want to play at your funeral – Living Dead Girl by Rob Zombie
day 25 – a song that makes you laugh – My Baby Daddy by B-Roc & The Biz
day 26 – a song that you can play on an instrument – FAIL
day 27 – a song that you wish you could play – Roll Away Your Stone by Mumford and Sons
day 28 – a song that makes you feel guilty
day 29 – a song from your childhood
day 30 – your favorite song at this time last year

Talk to me

